Technology Dependency

26 Jul

While following my online communities about wedding planning, I stumbled upon an idea that had never occurred to me before: an unplugged wedding ceremony. What that entails is asking your wedding guests to turn off their cameras and cell phones throughout the ceremony to encourage them to be fully present in the moment and take it all in without the distraction of technology.

However, when I brought the idea up to my family their reaction stunned me: shock, apprehension, and a touch of distress. All of this dismay over thirty to forty five minutes without their smart phones. As a technology junkie myself, who spends the majority of my days glued to my smart phone and laptop, even I understand the importance of unplugging every once. So what’s the problem? It’s not the picture taking, because as I’ve explained to them a couple of times, I’ve hired two amazing professional photographers who will be sharing all of their high quality edited images with everyone for free just a few weeks after the wedding.

I’m assuming that the issue is that our society has become so overly dependent on technology in recent years that sometimes it actually causes anxiety to go without for any length of time.

This probably isn’t what brides typically envision for their wedding day: Sneaking a glance at their guests only to see them staring into their LCD screens. (Photo by Jeff Seltzer Photography)

A sea of view finders. (Photo by Aurora Photography)

Even some brides can’t handle unplugging. This bride is reading her vows from her cell phone. (Photo by 12-1 Photography)

2 Responses to “Technology Dependency”

  1. minneral July 27, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    First, I can’t believe those pictures you have on this post. Somebody get a life….lol.

    Second, you make a good point about our dependency. Three cheers for you for suggesting that you have a “tech-free” wedding.

    I was never much into photography. I do enjoy looking at photos, especially of people I am close to. But as far as being the actual photographer, naw….I’ll pass. The reason is quite simple: I want to experience what I am doing. Its more important for me to experience an event rather than record that event so I can look back on it. There is an important distinction between the two.

    I really don’t have anything against people who want to photograph every little aspect of their lives. That is their choice. I wonder though, that with all our tech devices, cell phones, laptops, etc. are we dependent on them because we love to use those devices or are we dependent on them because it gives us a good reason to avoid real face to face interaction with others?

    When I was a GM at a quick casual restuarant, I was always irked when customers would come up and order while they were on their cell phones. They never paid attention to anything, trying to get their order was sometimes a nightmare. I felt as if it robbed me of two things; being able to give the customer good customer service by interacting with them, and being able to fulfill their order quickly and accurately because of their not paying attention. It also bothered customers behind them who were waiting impatiently.

    • Katie July 27, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Regarding your thoughts on tech dependency: There has been so much interesting research conducted in recent years about the decline of face to face social interactions because of technology. It’s funny because this class revolves around a lot of collaborative technology that allows us to connect with people around the globe. However, while we have our faces turned down to look at our phones, tablets, and laptops, we’re missing out on talking to the people around us.

      I can also relate to customers with their cell phones. I was a server for three years. Many times the customers wouldn’t even respond to my greeting, because they would be finishing up a text. Yet if I tried to walk away to go talk to another table, they would get mad. I was expected on several occasions to just stand at the end of the table until they were ready to put their phones down. So frustrating!

Leave a Reply

