A Digital Native That Avoided Online Classes?

17 Jul

Before I started this program last year I had never taken an online course. To be honest I tried as hard as I could to keep it that way. Even though I considered myself to be a digital native, I still preferred face-to-face classes, meetings, conversations, etc. But if I wanted to graduate within my desired timeline, I would have to take the dreaded online classes.

My first online class reinforced all my fears; the discussion board threads were dry and repetitive, the lack of group collaboration left me feeling isolated, and I didn’t feel that I learned as much as I would have in the same course face-to-face. But I tried again, because I had to.

My next online class was completely different. The instructor got us involved in class discussions without beating the discussion board threads to death, promoted collaboration, and introduced me to online lectures. It was a positive experience and at the end of the semester I felt that I had gained the same amount of knowledge that I would have in a face-to-face version of the course.

After that, I was hooked. I purposefully registered for all online courses this summer and fall, because it’s so convenient. Many of my other preferences have changed also. For instance, I find online collaboration to be much quicker and simpler than face-to-face meetings. It’s funny how things work out like that sometimes…

Leave a Reply

