Week 2 Journal

15 Jul

How might the concept of produsage be applied in your life as it stands today?

The concept of produsage applies to my personal life informally, mostly through Facebook and blogs. With Facebook I post status updates, upload photos and videos, and share interesting things I find online such as articles and websites. With blogs I used to be far more passive, usually just following them and sharing posts that I found especially interesting. In fact, until I started posting to this blog, my contribution to blogs was practically nonexistent. I also used to ‘consume’ information from Wikipedia, a site heavily related to produsage. However, once I realized the difference between academic and non-academic sources, that pretty much ceased, because Google makes it so quick and easy to find the same information from an academic source.

I think as time goes on, the line between producers and users online will continue to blur.

Leave a Reply

