VoiceThread: Breaking Up the Monotony of Discussion Boards

10 Jul

Today I checked out something posted on VoiceThread by a fellow classmate, and thought to myself, “Wow, it’s really nice to hear someone’s voice and actually speak back to them.” It seems that participation in most web-based courses revolves around discussion boards to make up for missing out on the discussions that would naturally take place in face-to-face courses. It’s a logical concept, but if you take most or all of your classes online, discussion boards become extremely monotonous. It would break up the tedium if occasionally professors had their students respond to topics on VoiceThread rather than on a discussion board.

4 Responses to “VoiceThread: Breaking Up the Monotony of Discussion Boards”

  1. Vanessa July 11, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    I didn’t vote, but … I always feel like I ramble (and I do! I do!) on VT comments, whereas in a discussion board I feel like I compose a more cogent response. I’ve actually considered writing out and then recording VT comments, but that somehow feels disingenuous. It’s a dilemma, but I do agree that it is nice to hear voices and feel more conversational.

    I really like VT for commenting on a visual, and the doodling capability is really nice.

    • minneral (@minneral1) July 11, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      I tried both winging my conversation and writing it down. And I agree, making a prepared speech is truly not as genuine as just “shooting from the hip” I think if you do what many good speakers do, jot down key words as a reminder, you will acheive the desired results. See Vanessa, I am not the only VT crazed student out there…lol.

  2. minneral (@minneral1) July 11, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    I am glad to see someone else is into VT as much as I am. I just discovered this and I really like it. I think this could replace the very linear and boring Discussion forums that we are all too familiar with. I agree with you also that its nice to hear a voice. I put a VT up in my blog and when I got a few responses, I thought this was great. another advantage is that you can organize in a non-linear manner which I believe will produce a more creative thinking process.

    In response to Vanessa’s comment, I too was unsure about how to respond when I saw a classmates VT. I can be very coherent when speaking without a script, and I do recognize that some may not be able to, and that preparing a “speech” may not be geniune. However, I think you can do what most good speakers do, jot down key words and just expand on it while speaking.

    My only problem with Voice Thread is its initials. Every time I see VT, I think of Virginia Tech, and living in University of Virginia land here in Charlottesville, VT isn’t well liked…Kinda like us Nole fans always being reminded of them darn Gators.

    March on to new discovers and thanks for your post.

  3. Katie July 11, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    I do agree that formulating an immediate response might be difficult for some students, but VT does allow you to listen to your recording before you submit it. I frequently change my original response, because depending on the topic my first response isn’t always the most coherent.

Leave a Reply

