Pinterest: Simple Photo Sharing Site? Or Something More?

9 Jul

A few months ago when I first got engaged, I received the normal onslaught of questions, but one caught me off guard: “Have you started posting anything on Pinterest about your wedding?” I had never heard of Pinterest, but I was immediately intrigued. I signed up for an account, and after a little bit of playing around with the site, I was immediately hooked. No really, it has become an addiction. If you’ve never heard of Pinterest, it’s basically a virtual pinboard that lets users pin photos of interest from anywhere on the web to be viewed in a central location. Check out this article on CNN.com: Why Pinterest is 2012’s Hottest Website

At first I thought of it as just a fancy photo sharing website, but then people started following my boards and commenting on my pins, and I realized that it has some of the elements of a social networking website as well. My friends and family are able to see what I’m currently interested in and even repin things from my boards onto their own, showing us where our interests overlap. In fact, Pinterest is even helping me plan my wedding while keeping my bridesmaids (who live in Florida, Pennsylvania, and D.C.) and my mom in the loop.

Fellow Pinterest Users: Tell me about your experience with Pinterest. What do you use it for? What do you like/dislike about it?

3 Responses to “Pinterest: Simple Photo Sharing Site? Or Something More?”

  1. skyholm July 12, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Katie,

    I have never used Pinterest, because it seems tailored for females; things like weddings, and hairstyles, etc. (Not that men aren’t interested in that, just using those examples I have seen). I have noticed on Facebook a lot of my female friends use it. Can you pin urls, or just pictures? Do people mainly post pictures of themselves, or of other things?

    • Katie July 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      It does seem to be primarily used by females, although I have seen a few guys on there recently. People don’t usually use Pinterest to post photos of themselves. Rather it’s a way of a pinning a photo or a video from an external site onto your board. The great thing is that it links back to the URL that you got it from. So essentially your pinning that URL to refer back to at another time by way of an image on that site.

      • skyholm July 12, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

        Oh, that sounds cool – I am going to check it out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

