Week 1 Journal

6 Jul

What have been your prior experiences with Web 2.0 technologies?

Before now, I never thought of my online activities in terms of Web 1.0 or 2.0, and to be honest I was not sure what Web 2.0 even meant. After doing some light research, a definition that I ended up liking is that “Web 2.0 refers to the social use of the Web which allow people to collaborate, to get actively involved in creating content, to generate knowledge and to share information online.”* Based on that definition, some of the experiences that I have had have been with following blogs and now creating one, sharing photos, videos, and documents, and social networking.

Do you consider yourself a leader or follower in this realm, or something else altogether? Why?

I consider myself primarily a follower in this realm. I follow several blogs, but I have not put in the time or effort to try to start my own. I collaborate online frequently, but I’m not one to seek out new tools; I usually just use the tools that are preferred by those I’m working with. I’m also not usually on the cutting edge of social networking sites. I have a Facebook account, but until this week I didn’t have a Twitter account or anything like it.

Discuss what you hope to get out of this class.

Throughout this course I hope to gain a more solid grasp on the concept of Web 2.0 and how it can be utilized for educational purposes. I also expect that I’ll learn about sites and tools that I have not yet encountered that will prove useful as an instructional designer.
* Grosseck, Gabriela. (2009). To use or not to use web 2.0 in higher education? Procedia Social and Behavioral Sciences, 1, 478–482. doi:10.1016/j.sbspro.2009.01.087

Leave a Reply

